Image Awards Logo
42nd Annual NAACP Image Awards Nominations
Posted Wednesday, January 12, 2011 5:50:49 PM
Share this story
Just three soaps received nominations for this year's NAACP's Image Awards. The Image Awards will air live March 4 on FOX.

The nominees for the 42nd NAACP Image Awards were announced on January 11. Among the dozens of nominees are ten choices for outstanding actor and actress in a daytime drama series. The NAACP Image Awards honors projects and individuals that promote diversity in the arts in television, recording, literature, and motion pictures.

Just three soap operas received nominations this year. All My Children, The Bold and the Beautiful, and The Young and the Restless each earned three nominations. Three of the nine nominees are not series regulars. Last year's winners are also among this year's nods.

Elsewhere on the ballot, soap opera veterans were well represented. Morgan Freeman (ex-Roy Bingham, Another World) earned an Outstanding Actor in a Motion Picture nomination for his work in Red. On the television side, Y&R's Tatyana Ali earned a nomination for her work on TV One's Love That Girl! in addition to her nod for Y&R. Lamman Rucker (ex-T. Marshall Travers, As the World Turns; ex-Garret Williams, All My Children) is up for an award in the Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series for his work on the TBS series Tyler Perry's Meet the Browns. CSI's Laurence Fishburne (ex-Joshua Hall, One Life to Live) and Grey's Anatomy's James Pickens, Jr., (ex-Zack Edwards, Another World) earned nominations on the dramatic side of the ballot.

Here is the listing of soap-related nominees for this year's NAACP Image Awards. For a complete listing of all nominees, click here.

Outstanding Actor in a Daytime Drama Series
Rodney Saulsberry (Anthony, The Bold and the Beautiful)
Cornelius Smith, Jr. (Frankie Hubbard, All My Children)
Aaron D. Spears (Justin Barber, The Bold and the Beautiful)
Darnell Williams (Jesse Hubbard, All My Children)

Outstanding Actress in a Daytime Drama Series

Tatyana Ali (Roxanne, The Young and The Restless)
Yvette Freeman (Dr. Lewis, The Bold And The Beautiful)
Julia Pace Mitchell (Sofia Dupre, The Young and the Restless)
Debbi Morgan (Angie Hubbard, All My Children)
Tonya Lee Williams (Olivia Winters, The Young And The Restless)

Last year's winners were All My Children's Cornelius Smith, Jr., and Debbi Morgan

This year will mark the first time ever that the soap categories will be broadcast live during the telecast. The 42nd NAACP Image Awards will air live on Friday, March 4 (8:00-10:00 PM ET live/PT tape-delayed) on FOX.

Share this story with friends, family or the world.

PRINTABLE VERSION View a printer friendly version of this article

Related Information
Daily Recaps
Two Scoops Commentary
Message Boards
Cast and Credits
Who's Who Character Profiles
Daytime Emmys
Kroll Call
All My Children
Another World
As the World Turns
The Bold and the Beautiful
Days of our Lives
General Hospital
Guiding Light
One Life to Live
Port Charles
Sunset Beach
The Young and the Restless
Contact Us