Byrne Burns Up Dankies Ballot, 2002
Posted Sunday, February 03, 2002 9:50:36 AM
Share this story

CLICK HERE to skip over the commentary and analysis of the nominations and vote directly on the 'all soaps' final ballot.

The winners of Dankies in each of the ten soap opera sections have now been announced. To find out what happened in other soap balloting, click on the links below. And don't forget to cast your vote in the "All Soaps" edition of the Dankies!

All My Children
As The World Turns
The Bold and the Beautiful
Days of our Lives
General Hospital
Guiding Light
One Life to Live
Port Charles
The Young and the Restless

Though her margin of win might not have been as great as last year's, Martha Byrne (Lily Snyder and Rose D'Angelo) was once again the big winner of the As The World Turns edition of the Soap Opera Central awards.

Byrne grabbed more than half of the total vote in the Outstanding Lead Actress field. The win marked her second consecutive win in the field. Byrne received about twice as many votes as her next closest competitor, Maura West (Carly Tenney). West also finished second to Byrne in last year's voting, however, the margin of victory was much greater in last year's balloting.

One of Byrne's alter egos, Rose D'Angelo, was named Favorite Character in the voting. In that field Byrne against edged out West.

Among the men, actor Paul Leyden (Simon Frasier) was the big winner. Leyden walked away with two trophies - one for Outstanding Supporting Actor and another for Most Attractive Actor. Leyden had been previously nominated on the Supporting Actor category, but this year marks his first win. The man who bested Leyden last year, Hunt Block (Craig Montgomery) was again victorious this year - but this time in the Outstanding Lead Actor field. Block cruised to victory over last year's winner Tom Eplin (Jake McKinnon). Benjamin Hendrickson (Hal Munson) and Scott Holmes (Tom Hughes) rounded out the field.

Voters were generous in handing out victory in this year's Dankies. In total, nine different performers were awarded with wins. The only performer other than Byrne and Leyden to win multiple awards was actress Terri Colombino. Colombino picked up a second consecutive Outstanding Supporting Actress win. In addition, Colombino was also voted Most Attractive Actress,.

Among the other winners were Scott Holroyd (Paul Ryan) in the Outstanding Newcomer field, Kristina Sisco (Abigail Williams) as Outstanding Younger Performer, Carl T. Evans (for Nick Scudder) as the Least Favorite Character, Scott DeFreitas (Andy Dixon) for Most Missed Performer and Trent Dawson (Henry Coleman) was chosen as the Outstanding Special Guest/Recurring Performer.

Voters chose two storylines involving romance as the Favorite and Least Favorite Storyline of the year. Simon and Katie's pretend relationship that turned into true love earn top honors as the favorite plot. On the flip side, Billy's breakup of Bryant and Jennifer's relationship - and Bryant's subsequent death - was voted the worst storyline of the year.

The automobile accident that claimed Bryant's life earned top billing as the Worst Moment of the year.

Several of last year's key winners were not present on the ballot this year. Tom Eplin (Jake McKinnon), a two-time winner last year, failed to receive even a single nomination this year. Jon Hensley (Holden Snyder) squeaked out a Most Attractive Male win last year, but this year finished a distant third.


Related Information